ieiMedia faculty to chat on Twitter about studying abroad

Oct 14, 2016   //   by Rachele Kanigel   //   Advice From the Pros, Announcements, Blog, IEI Media in the News, International Reporting, Journalism Education, Social Media  //  No Comments
Rachele Kanigel is an associate professor of journalism at San Francisco State University. She directed ieiMedia projects in Jerusalem (2013), Perpignan (2010 and 2011) and Urbino (2009) and taught reporting in Cagli in 2007. In 2017 she will co-direct ieiMedia's new international reporting program in Kyoto, Japan.
MediaShift_logoThree ieiMedia faculty will participate next week in an #EdShift chat, “Learning Digital Skills on Study-Abroad Programs,” sponsored by MediaShift.

The hourlong chat will start at 1 p.m. Eastern time/noon Central/11 a.m. Mountain/10 a.m. Pacific on Oct. 18. You can find it by searching for the #EdShift Twitter hashtag.

Rachele Kanigel, co-director of ieiMedia’s new Kyoto program, Steve Listopad, director of the Oslo program and Spring Semester in Urbino, and Amara Aguilar, who teaches in ieiMedia’s Valencia program, will participate. Other guests include Vivian Martin of Central Connecticut State University, Andrea Frantz of Buena Vista University,  Meggie Morris of Northwestern University, Kim Fox of American University in Cairo, and John Schrader of California State University-Long Beach. Stacy Forster of the University of Wisconsin-Madison will moderate the chat.

Kanigel, an associate professor of journalism at San Francisco State University, has led ieiMedia programs in Perpignan, France; Urbino, Italy; and Jerusalem and taught in the Cagli program. Aguilar, an associate professor of professional practice in digital journalism at the University of Southern California, taught in ieiMedia’s Valencia program in 2015 and 2016.

Former ieiMedia students and those considering our 2017 programs are encouraged to attend the Twitter chat and share experiences and questions about studying digital journalism abroad.

UPDATE: A Storify recap of the conversation was posted on MediaShift after the chat. Read it here.

Leave a comment

ieiMedia Blog: Browse Topics

Subscribe to Latest Blog Posts
email iconBy e-mail | rss iconBy RSS feed

Get our Free e-Newsletter

Please enter your e-mail address below.

Our Students Get Great Gigs

Where do ieiMedia grads end up? Check our alumni news page.

Students Say...

Spending four weeks in Urbino has been a phenomenal experience. I find myself walking down the cobblestone hills, in awe of my surroundings as people pass by, laughing and talking and living their lives. This is the most photogenic place that I’ve ever been in, yet I still feel as though it’s impossible to capture the beauty in this town through a lens. The very air breathes history and sentiment that exceeds all expectation.
by Kendall Gilman, James Madison University, Urbino Project 2015